Statistics on European Super Cup 2023 (Manchester City vs Sevilla 1-1, pen. 5-4)

*The current Champions League winner has won 10 of the last 11 editions of the European Super Cup. That one exception came in 2018 when Atletico Madrid (Europa League winner) defeated Real Madrid (4-2).

*Manchester City became 25th club (and 6th English) to win the trophy. 

*Sevilla have only won 1 out of their 7 Super Cup editions, very first in 2006 against Barcelona). So they lost 6 editions consecutively.

*The team that scored the first goal won 22 of the 29 editions of the European Super Cup that have been played in a single match. 
In 4 of those 7 comebacks the suffering side was just Sevilla (2007 vs Milan, 2015 vs Barcelona, 2020 vs Bayern, 2023 vs Man City).

*It was the 3rd European Super Cup with two Spanish coaches (Pep Guardiola and José Luis Mendilibar), after the 2010 (Quique Sánchez Flores and Rafa Benítez) and 2015 (Luis Enrique and Unai Emery) editions.

*Youssef En-Nesyri is the 2nd Moroccan player to score in a European Super Cup match. The first was Hakim Ziyech in 2021 for Chelsea against Villarreal.

*En-Nesyri has scored 18 goals with Sevilla in 2023, the highest record among current La Liga players in all competitions in this calendar year (the next is Robert Lewandowki with 15).

*Cole Palmer became the 2nd player to score in the Community Shield (English Super Cup) and the UEFA Super Cup in the same year, after Michael Owen in 2001.

*Cole Palmer (age 21 years 102 days) is the 2nd youngest English player to score in a European Super Cup game, behind only David Fairclough who scored for Liverpool against Hamburg in 1977 at 20 years 321 days.

*Pep Guardiola has won all the European Super Cups he has disputed as a coach (4 out of 4).
He equaled the record holder Carlo Ancelotti who also won the trophy 4 times.

*Guardiola is the first coach to win the trophy with 3 different sides (Barcelona 2009, 2011, Bayern 2013, Manchester City 2023).

*Guardiola, with only 15 years of career, became the 2nd most winning coach of all time. He has 36 trophies at his tally now; he has surpassed Mircea Lucescu's 35 titles (in a 42-year career) and is a little closer to Alex Ferguson's historic record (49 titles in 39 years of duty).