Club León secured its first CONCACAF Champions League title with a 1-0 victory over Los Angeles FC on Sunday night. León won the first leg of the final 2-1 in Mexico on Wednesday night, and the Liga MX club thrilled its thousands of supporters at Los Angeles FC’s BMO Stadium, highlighted by Di Yorio’s goal in the 20th minute. León is the ninth Mexican club to win the Champions League in its current format, which began in 2002.


Los Angeles FC lost the Champions League final for the second time in four seasons. The club also lost the 2020 final to Tigres after knocking off León with a second-leg comeback victory earlier in that competition. In the first leg, León took a two-goal lead into second-half injury time before a strike from Denis Bouanga kept LAFC’s hope alive despite its 2-1 loss.

Los Angeles was more offensive than in the first leg, but Di Yorio still boosted León’s lead when the Argentine forward beat goalkeeper John McCarthy, who made many spectacular saves in the opening match.

Los Angeles managed a handful of promising chances in the second half, but still only put three shots on goal. León goalkeeper Rodolfo Cota made a great save on Timothy Tillman’s header in the fourth minute of second-half injury time. Club Leon won so deserved the Champions League 2023, having The Best Player of the Tournament, Victor Avila and the Revelation of the Tournament, Fidel Ambriz. Los Angeles FC was awarded with The Best Goalkeeper of the Tournament, John Mc Carthy and the Best Goalscorer of the Tournament, Denis Bouanga (7 goals).