Picture : 2020, 2021, 2022 - always Lewandowski at the top !

IFFHS Men's World Best Top Goal Scorer 2022:

RL9 runs last year’s scenario but is well down to himself of 2021

The winner of last 2 awards in this goal-scoring category (2020, 2021) Robert Lewandowski has again topped the list. The same thing happened a year ago. Then it also took him 3 starting months of the year to take the lead.
However, with all this similarity, RL9 is still much behind his last year's pace. In 2021, he already had 25 goals at his tally at this point of the year. Now he has “only” 16.

All goals at top senior level are counted (top national divisions, national cups, official international club tournaments, official games between national teams).
Brazilian state championships Paulista and Carioca have status equal to national leagues (according to IFFHS decision).

THE RANKING at March 31, 2022

 PlayerClubCountryGoals   Total
1Robert Lewandowski Bayern (Germany)Poland12 3116
2Kylian MbappéPSGFrance632213
3Jamie MaclarenMelbourne CityAustralia11  213
4Akram AfifAl SaddQatar111 113
5Michael OlungaAl Duhail (Qatar)Kenya112  13
6Arkadiusz MilikMarseille (France)Poland624 12
7Karim BenzemaReal Madrid (Spain)France723 12
8Sébastien HallerAjax (Netherlands)Côte d'Ivoire821112
9Harry Kane Tottenham England 83 112
10Peter EbimoboweiAbahani Chittagong (Bangladesh)Nigeria111  12
11Gelson DalaAl Wakrah (Qatar)Angola84  12
12Vincent AboubakarAl Nassr (Saudi Arabia)Cameroon3  811
13Wissam Ben YedderMonacoFrance73 111
14Tammy AbrahamRoma (Italy)England911 11
15Odion IghaloAl Hilal (Saudi Arabia)Nigeria911 11
16Christopher NkunkuRB Leipzig (Germany)France821 11
17Jonathan BolingiBuriram (Thailand)Congo DR551 11
18Samy FriouiMC AlgerAlgeria11   11
19Ilija SpasojevićBali UnitedIndonesia11   11
20Franck EtougaAsante Kotoko (Ghana)Cameroon11   11
21Abderrazak HamdallahAl Ittihad (Saudi Arabia)Morocco 101  11
22Georgios GiakoumakisCeltic (Scotland)Greece74  11
23Mehdi TaremiPorto (Portugal)Iran611210
24Pierre-Emerick AubameyangBarcelona (Spain)Gabon7 2110
25Ciro ImmobileLazioItaly811 10
26Riyad MahrezManchester City (England)Algeria541 10
27Dominik StolzHesperange (Luxembourg)Germany10   10
28Bartholomew OgbecheHyderabad (India)Nigeria10   10
29Carlos FortesArema (Indonesia)Portugal10   10
30EvanilsonPorto (Portugal)Brazil82  10
31Danilo AlvesSuphanburi (Thailand)Brazil64  10

NL – National League
NC – National Cups
ICC – International Club Competitions
NT – National Team

Period: from January 1 to March 31, 2022.
Tiebreaking criteria in case of equal number of total goals: 1) international goals (ICC + NT), 2) goals scored for national team (NT), 3) goals scored in domestic league (NL), 4) strength of the league (according to IFFHS ranking), 5) number of total games played.