Picture : Brazilian Goal Scorer Gustavo and Jeonbuk Motors on the way to the Quarter Final !


*Ulsan Hyundai FC  extended their unbeaten streak in the AFC Champions League to 16 matches after defeating Japan’s Kawasaki Frontale. The South Korean Club has won two AFC Champions League in 2012 and 2020, joining the Quarter Final for the fourft time since 2006.

*Japan’s Nagoya Grampus qualified to the Quarter Final for the second time in the club’s History !

*Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors qualified for the 9th time in the last 18 years for the Quarter finals ! South Korea’s club has won the Champions League two times (2006 and 2016), being finalist in 2011.

*FC Pohang Steelers , the other great South korean Club, won the new AFC Champions League one time in 2009, but also in 1997 and 1998 with the old edition. It is only the fourft time in the last 18 editions that Pohang reaches the Quarter final.

*UAE’s Al Wahda FSCC makes his first appearance at this stage of the competition since 2007. Al Wahda reached the quarter finals in 2002, 2004 and 2007.

*AFC Champions league 2019 winner Al Hilal FC from Saudi Arabia is a regular costumer of the final matches in the competition. He won in 1991, 2000 and 2019, and was finalist four times in 1986, 1987, 2014 and 2017 ! 

* 2018 and 2019 finalist Persepolis FC of Iran has again reached the Quarter final, like the other Saudu Arabian giant Al Nassr FC. They kept alive their hopes of capturing their first AFC Champions League title !


In the West Zone quarter-finals, UAE's Al Wahda FSCC will face Saudi Arabia's Al Nassr while  Persepolis FC of Islamic Republic of Iran will meet Al Hilal SFC of Saudi Arabia.

Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors while face defending champions Ulsan Hyundai FC in an all-Korea Republic affair while a third side from the nation, Pohang Steelers will face Japan's Nagoya Grampus in the East quarter-finals.

The quarter-finals are scheduled for October 16 and 17 with the semi-finals on October 19 and 20. The final is on November 23 in Saudi Arabia.



Quarter-final 1
October 16: Al Wahda FSCC (UAE) v Al Nassr FC (KSA)

Quarter-final 2
October 16: Persepolis FC (IRN) v Al Hilal SFC (KSA)

Quarter-final 3
October 17: Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors (KOR) v Ulsan Hyundai FC (KOR)

Quarter-final 4
October 17: Pohang Steelers (KOR) v Nagoya Grampus (JPN)