The CONMEBOL Best Goal Scorer 2022: Bérgson

The 31-year-old Brazilian striker Bérgson (full name Bérgson Gustavo Silveira da Silva) became the best goal-scorer of 2022 among the players from CONMEBOL countries.
He scored 46 goals in all competitions for his Malaysian club Johor Darul Ta'zim.
All three players on the South American podium (Bérgson, Germán Cano, Tiago Azulão) are not playing for their national teams. The stars who play prominent roles in their national teams (Messi, Julián Álvarez, Neymar) follow them in the rankings.
As for the top 20 chart, as many as 17 places, including all the highest 13, are taken by players from just two countries, Argentina (10) and Brazil (7). The remaining countries of the region received only 3 positions (one each for Uruguay, Colombia and Ecuador).

 PlayerClubCountryGoals   Total
1BergsonJohor Darul Ta'zim (Malaysia)Brazil29116 46
2Germán CanoFluminense (Brazil)Argentina3356 44
3Tiago AzulãoPetro de Luanda (Angola)Brazil25410 39
4Lionel Messi PSG (France)Argentina12141835
5Julián ÁlvarezRiver Plate, Manchester City (England)Argentina1438732
6NeymarPSG (France)Brazil2122732
7Nicolás IbáñezPachuca (Mexico)Argentina31   31
8Pedro FlamengoBrazil14312130
9Gabriel BarbosaFlamengoBrazil2036 29
10CryzanSanta Clara (Portugal), Shandong (China)Brazil28   28
11Fernando ZampedriUniversidad Católica (Chile)Argentina1863 27
12Jonathan CalleriSão Paulo (Brazil)Argentina26 1 27
13MarcãoWuhan Three Towns (China)Brazil27   27
14Darwin NúñezBenfica (Portugal), Liverpool (England)Uruguay1816126
15Lautaro MartínezInternazionale (Italy) Argentina1732426
16Miguel BorjaJunior, River Plate (Argentina)Colombia1915126
17Marcos RiquelmeAlways Ready (Bolivia)Argentina23 2 25
18Sebastián DriussiAustin (USA)Argentina25   25
19Enner ValenciaFenerbahce (Turkey)Ecuador18 2424
20Ramiro RoccaReal España (Honduras)Argentina18 6 24

All goals at top senior level are counted (top national divisions, national cups, official international club tournaments, official games between national teams).
Brazilian state championships Paulista and Carioca have status equal to national leagues (according to IFFHS decision).
Period: from January 1 to December 31, 2022.

NL – National League
NC – National Cups
ICC – International Club Competitions
NT – National Team

Tie-breaking criteria in case of equal number of total goals: 1) international goals (ICC + NT), 2) goals scored for national team (NT), 3) goals scored in domestic league (NL), 4) strength of the league (on IFFHS ranking)