Picture : Thibaut Courtois at the World Cup in Russia



After Jean-Marie Pfaff (1986) and Michel Preudhomme (1994), Thibaut Courtois is the third Belgian Goalkeeper to win the IFFHS  Award of The World’s Best Goalkeeper in 2018.

It was the 32th annual Award in this category which was decided by football experts from 90 countries around the World and announced today by the IFFHS in Zurich.

Courtois who played in club with Chelsea FC and after with Real Madrid CF realized a great year thanks to the World Cup 2018 in Russia. He was crowned there the Best Goalkeeper of the tournament as Belgium’s national Goalkeeper and a final third place.

Second in the ranking, the French goalkeeper of Tottenham Hotspur FC and captain of the national team France, World Champion 2018, Hugo Lloris took place before last year’s winner Gianluigi Buffon, once again in the Top 3 since 15 years .

Manuel Neuer, winner of four consecutive Awards (2013 to 2016), polled strong to come back after his injuries, reaching the Top 10.


Buffon  g;

Gianluigi Buffon, winner 2003,2004,2006,2007 and 2017

xx of FC Bayern Muenchen arrives at the players

Manuel Neuer, winner 2013,2014,2015 and 2016





RANKING NAME Country Club Points
1 Thibaut COURTOIS Belgium Chelsea FC/Real Madrid CF 181
2 Hugo LLORIS France Tottenham Hotspur FC 109
3 Gianluigi BUFFON Italy Juventus FC/Paris SG 59
4 Keylor NAVAS Costa Rica Real Madrid CF 58
5 Jan OBLAK Slovenia Club Atlético de Madrid 49
  Marc André TER STEGEN Germany FC Barcelona 49
7 ALISSON Ramses Becker Brazil Liverpool FC 36
8 David DE GEA Spain Manchester United FC 33
9 Danijel SUBASIC Croatia AS Monaco 23
10 Manuel NEUER Germany FC Bayern München 20
11 Jordan PICKFORD England Everton FC 11
12 Kasper SCHMEICHEL Denmark Leicester FC 9
13 EDERSON Santana Moraes Brazil Manchester City FC 6
14 Samir HANDANOVIC Slovenia FC Internazionale Milano 4
15 Franco ARMANI Argentina CA River Plate 3
16 Igor AKINFEEV Russia CSKA Moscow 1
  Guillermo OCHOA Mexico Standard de Liège 1
  Denis ONYANGO Uganda Mamelodi Sundowns FC 1
  Yann SOMMER Switzerland VFL Borussia Moenchengladbach 1



(Visited 6,427 times, 9 visits today)